Read the full analysis: OpenAI Tightens The Rules As AI Costs Draw Attention: What To Expect on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
TL;DR
OpenAI has added limits on how many paid ChatGPT subscriptions can be linked to a payment card or used on one device, and says Plus, Pro and Business users will share an allowance across ChatGPT and Codex starting in December. The changes come as xAI CEO Elon Musk says serving Grok Bot was unsustainably expensive relative to revenue, without giving figures or announcing a specific new limit.
OpenAI has tightened rules for paid ChatGPT accounts and plans to combine usage allowances for ChatGPT and Codex from December, while xAI CEO Elon Musk said serving its Grok Bot agent had been unsustainably expensive relative to revenue. The changes point to more explicit limits and metering for heavy AI use, but neither company has published figures showing the costs involved.
OpenAI’s help center says it limits how many paid accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be bought with a payment card or device. The policy applies to Go, Plus and the Pro plans, according to the supplied source material. OpenAI has not published a numerical cap, leaving users without a stated threshold for when a card or device might be blocked from adding another subscription.
From December, Plus, Pro and Business plans will draw from one allowance across ChatGPT and Codex, measured in tokens, OpenAI says. Unlimited access to Instant chats remains outside that shared meter, according to the company’s help information. The change means use of the coding tool can count against the same pool as ChatGPT activity, although the source material does not give the allowance amounts for each plan.
The policy changes followed a separate OpenAI update on October 29. The company’s release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 subscribers received twice their previous Work and Codex allowance, while a planned reduction for Pro 200 was cancelled. A product lead, Thibault Sottiaux, described the update on X as doubling usage limits across Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500 tiers and Business Premium; OpenAI’s release notes specify the narrower allowance changes. The distinction matters because the announcement and the company’s published plan details are not identical in scope.
On November 1, Musk responded to an X user asking for a Grok Bot reset after reports that usage had run out quickly. “The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue,” he wrote. The statement referred to Grok Bot, xAI’s agent, rather than Grok chat generally. Musk did not provide costs, revenue, margins or details of any change to the service.
29 Oct – 1 Nov 2026
Infographic 01 · One week, four moves
More allowance, more metering: the week the AI flat rate cracked
In four days, OpenAI raised some limits, tightened others and announced one shared meter, and Musk called the cost of serving Grok Bot unsustainably high relative to revenue.
“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue”Elon Musk on X, 1 November 2026, 20:34 UTC, replying to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset
OpenAI gives more on top plans
Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance. A planned cut on Pro 200 is cancelled.
Limits per card and per device
ChatGPT may block a new subscription if too many are tied to one card or device. Applies to Go, Plus, Pro 100, 200 and 500. No number published.
One meter from December
Plus, Pro and Business: one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside.
Musk: Grok Bot cost too much
One sentence, past tense. No figures, no new limit, no word on resets or prices.
Paid resets on ChatGPT pull next week’s allowance forward; they do not add usage. Credits are a prepaid balance used after the included allowance.
Sources: Musk on X, 1 Nov 2026 · Tibo on X, 29 Oct 2026 · OpenAI: card and device limits · OpenAI: ChatGPT and Codex usage limits · OpenAI: paid resets.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
Usage Limits Are Becoming Part of AI Pricing
The developments show why a single monthly subscription price does not necessarily mean a fixed amount of practical use. AI tasks have different serving costs: a short chat response and an agent that spends time researching, browsing or coding can require substantially different amounts of computation. The source material says OpenAI’s rate card assigns markedly different token use to different models, but it does not provide enough information here to calculate customers’ total costs or compare plan value.
For subscribers, the immediate effect is greater need to check plan rules: activity in Codex may draw on the same pool as ChatGPT, and account-sharing thresholds are not stated publicly. For businesses, shared allowances can complicate usage forecasts across teams and tools. Companies may need to ask providers for written details on included usage, overage options and how limits are measured rather than relying on a plan’s monthly price alone.
The changes do not establish that flat-fee AI subscriptions are ending. OpenAI continues to offer monthly plans, and Musk’s post did not announce a price rise or a new Grok Bot limit. The better-supported takeaway is narrower: flat pricing is being paired with more controls over use, especially where costly models and longer-running agent tasks are involved.
A Week of Different OpenAI Changes
The OpenAI developments arrived in the same week but moved in different directions: some high-tier allowances increased or avoided a planned cut, while account-sharing rules and a future shared meter made usage boundaries more explicit. That combination is why the changes should not be reduced to a simple claim that the company has cut limits across the board. The published details distinguish between more allowance on selected plans and new ways to manage how subscriptions and tools are used.
The cost question has surfaced before. In December 2024, OpenAI launched a $200-a-month ChatGPT plan it described as offering “unlimited access” to its best models. The following month, CEO Sam Altman wrote on X that the company was losing money on Pro subscriptions because people used them more than expected. That earlier statement provides context, but it does not prove that the current policy changes are directly caused by the same economics.
xAI’s own description of Grok Bot says usage is measured by agent steps and tokens, not simply by the number of messages, and that consumption varies with the task. Its pricing page lists Grok Bot in certain paid X Subscription tiers, with usage drawn from a shared weekly pool. This helps explain why a user’s experience may vary, but it does not disclose the service’s actual operating costs.
“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.”
— Elon Musk, CEO of xAI, on X on November 1, 2026
Caps, Costs and Grok Changes Remain Unspecified
OpenAI has not published the number of paid accounts allowed per card or device, or explained exactly how it will apply the restriction in individual cases. The token allowance amounts for the shared ChatGPT-Codex pool are also not stated in the supplied material. Users may need to consult plan details as December approaches to understand how their particular subscription is affected.
Musk’s post does not say whether xAI reduced Grok Bot usage, changed its costs, or intends to adjust pricing or access. Reports cited by the source describe a post from Grok’s official account attributing “adjusted allocations” to serving costs and referring to a dashboard issue, but the source author said they could not locate that post. Those details are reported but not independently confirmed here. No cost or revenue figures for Grok Bot were provided, so claims about the size of any losses would be speculation.
The supplied source also does not establish whether OpenAI’s account-sharing rules or shared allowance were prompted by particular cost pressures. Costlier AI use is relevant context, but the company has not connected these measures to a specific financial calculation in the material available.
Watch December Allowance Details
The next stated milestone is OpenAI’s shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance in December. Subscribers will be watching for plan-specific token amounts, clearer examples of how activity is counted, and any information about what happens when an allowance is used up. The account-sharing policy may also become clearer if OpenAI publishes numerical caps or explains how it handles devices and cards associated with multiple users.
For xAI, Musk’s statement leaves open whether any adjustment to Grok Bot has already taken effect or whether further changes are planned. A company clarification, revised usage guidance or updated subscription terms could resolve that uncertainty. Until then, the confirmed information is limited to Musk’s cost statement and the documented shared weekly usage pool.
For users and organizations comparing plans, the practical next step is to review each provider’s current usage page and ask for specific limits and pricing in writing before committing to an upgrade. The current record supports a shift toward more visible usage controls, not a confirmed end to monthly AI subscriptions or proof that every provider will adopt the same model.
Key Questions
What new ChatGPT account restrictions did OpenAI announce?
OpenAI’s help center says it limits how many paid accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be bought with one payment card or device. The stated plans include Go, Plus and Pro, but the company has not published a numerical cap in the supplied material.
When will ChatGPT and Codex share an allowance?
OpenAI says the shared allowance for Plus, Pro and Business plans begins in December 2026. It is measured in tokens. The source material says unlimited Instant chats remain outside that meter.
Did Elon Musk announce a new Grok Bot limit?
No specific new limit was announced in Musk’s post. He said serving Grok Bot had been unsustainably expensive relative to revenue, but gave no cost or revenue figures and did not say whether a usage limit or price had changed.
Do these updates mean AI subscriptions are ending?
No. The available information does not show that monthly plans are ending. It indicates that providers are pairing subscription prices with usage allowances, shared pools or account controls; the extent and terms differ by service.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com